Election & Voter Information

April 5, 2016
Municipal Election

What’s On the Ballot?
The Town of Erie will conduct its Regular Municipal Election on Tuesday, April 5, 2016.  During this election, registered voters in Erie will be electing a Mayor and three (3) Trustees.  The Mayor will be elected to serve a two-year term and three Trustees will be elected to serve four-year terms.  

Candidate Information & Deadlines
  • Erie residents interested in running for the Board of Trustees may pick up a Candidate’s Packet from the Town Clerk’s Office beginning on Tuesday, January 5, 2016
  • Each petition requires a minimum of ten signatures from registered electors within the boundaries of the Town of Erie.  Registered electors may only sign one petition for the Mayoral candidacy and up to three petitions for the Board of Trustees candidates (only one signature per candidate.  Completed petitions must be filed no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, January 25, 2016 with the Town Clerk’s Office.
  • The Town Clerk’s Office has scheduled an informational meeting on Monday, January 4, 2014 at 6:00 p.m.  This meeting is not mandatory, however, information will be provided from the Secretary of State’s Office regarding the Colorado Campaign and Financial Practices Act as well as other important candidate information.
  • The last day for candidates to submit petitions to be included on the  April 5th ballot is 5:00 p.m. on Monday, January 25, 2016.
Mail Ballot Information
The Town Clerk’s Office will mail the ballots by the week of Monday, March 14, 2016.  Erie voters may mail their ballot or drop off their ballot at Town Hall any time during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.) and on Election Day from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.  Ballots must be received by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.  Registered voters who do not receive a ballot in the mail may request one from the Erie Town Clerk’s Office.
Other Information: 

Mayor & Trustee Positions
The Town of Erie holds a Regular Municipal Election the first Tuesday of April in even-numbered years. Trustees serve four-year staggered terms; at every Regular Election there are three out of the six seats up for election. The Mayor serves a two-year term.